Well Done Part 2

His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ – Matthew 25:21

I had no idea when I wrote Friday’s devotional the impact it would have. In fact I almost did not write it. I did not want to offend my Bible study teachers. But, I guess we all feel underappreciated at times. What caused me to write it was an oversight. I know that our regular Bible Study teachers appreciate what I do and due to Christmas it had been over two weeks since I had taught. But all it took was one slip, one missed name and I was ready to open to door wide for Satan to start whispering to me. Telling me how little people appreciate what I do. He always makes it sound so good, like he only has my best interest in mind.

God works a little differently. He usually does not shout, but waits for us to calm down and listen. What He tells us is not always what we want to hear but it is always what we need to hear. I wish things were a bit more like in Samuel’s time when God would physically speak to people. How great it would be to hear Him say well done. But he does still speak to us. He just uses fellow believers to do it. And sometimes He uses our thoughts to speak to us. We just need to listen. I know it is hard. I will go days beating myself up and then when I am finally too exhausted to beat any further a small thought will enter my mind and then I will find that all is really ok. Things were not as bad as I bad made them out to be. The hear Him we need to be quiet and we need to listen.

For Friday, it was not six minutes after I had sent my email that Amy sent back a reply that what I had wrote was exactly what she needed to hear. Then others replied back with their encouragement. Also with questions which hopefully I can try to answer or at least point in the right direction. When we are doing what God put us here to do and others do not seem to notice, it can be hard. We just need to remember that sometimes people get too busy and forget to let us know, they may not be sure how to tell us or they may be too shy to approach us. Some just don’t think about saying good job. Others think that is just what they are supposed to do so nothing special here.

Finally we need to encourage each other. It doesn’t have to be long and flowery just honest and to the point. A quick thank you is all it takes. The world is a tough place and if we can make it a little easier on others we need to do so. But our ultimate praise will only come when we stand before God’s throne and hear Him say “Well Done.” All else is nice, but this will be eternal.

Blessings,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

