Praying at all times

praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak. Ephesians 6:18-20

Paul was a praying man, but he also wanted believers to pray for him. Much like John the Baptist I feel like I am unfit to untie Paul’s sandals. Yet I too covet your prayers. I am definitely no Paul but I too have been given a small part to play.

I someone had told me that I would be writing a daily devotional I would have thought they were out of their minds. Now I find that not only am I writing and emailing a devotional I also have started a blog, with encouragement from some of you, and now have over 90 blog entries and over 120 devotionals and counting. I actually never thought I had that many words in me.

I know this can only be from God. Yet I am still amazed this is what He chose for me to do. I love your emails and words of encouragement but even more I need your prayers. As do we all.

For even as Paul asks the Ephesians to pray for him and his ministry, we need to lift up each other in prayer. Pray for each other’s ministry and for those still seeking a ministry we need to pray that they find it. For God has something great in store for each of us.

Knowing God the amazing thing is we are amazed by what He accomplishes with and through us. I know I shouldn’t be but I am still amazed.

Paul was in physical chains but each of us is in the chains of our sins. We need to pray to rise above our chains and to realize that even though we are still in our sin, God can and will use us to reach others and do His work.

In prayer,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

