To the Church in Thyatira

“And to the angel of the church in Thyatira write: ‘The words of the Son of God, who has eyes like a flame of fire, and whose feet are like burnished bronze. “‘I know your works, your love and faith and service and patient endurance, and that your latter works exceed the first. But I have this against you, that you tolerate that woman Jezebel, who calls herself a prophetess and is teaching and seducing my servants to practice sexual immorality and to eat food sacrificed to idols. I gave her time to repent, but she refuses to repent of her sexual immorality. Behold, I will throw her onto a sickbed, and those who commit adultery with her I will throw into great tribulation, unless they repent of her works, and I will strike her children dead. And all the churches will know that I am he who searches mind and heart, and I will give to each of you according to your works. But to the rest of you in Thyatira, who do not hold this teaching, who have not learned what some call the deep things of Satan, to you I say, I do not lay on you any other burden. Only hold fast what you have until I come. The one who conquers and who keeps my works until the end, to him I will give authority over the nations, and he will rule them with a rod of iron, as when earthen pots are broken in pieces, even as I myself have received authority from my Father. And I will give him the morning star. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’ Revelation 2:18-29

In Jesus’ word to the Church in Thyatira we see how one person can bring trouble to a whole church. In Thyatira Jezebel calls herself a prophetess and uses her office to bring false teachings into the church. Churches today need to be on guard that those in position of authority are teaching sound biblical truths.

It can be easy for a pastor or teacher to conform their teachings to what their congregation, class or community wants to hear. If you tell people what they want to hear there is no stress and life is easy. Yet truth is sometimes hard to hear and harder still when it touches on some private place in our own lives. Yet in order to grow we need the truth. In order to change we have the hear truth.

We don’t know a lot about Jezebel but she must have been someone of importance for the church in Thyatira to keep her around. Yet her teachings were poisoning the church. She was causing people to fall away from the truth and follow what the world wanted. God was going to punish Jezebel and her followers but it was up to the church to strip her of her authority and get her out of the church.

As a body we must always be on guard against false teachings. They sound so good but lead to destruction. And for unbelievers they can keep them from the truth that saves.

Blessings,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

