To the Church in Laodicea

“And to the angel of the church in Laodicea write: ‘The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the beginning of God’s creation. “‘I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see. Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent. Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.’” Revelation 3:14-22

Ever been working outside in the summer and the only water available is warm? There is no ice so you have to drink warm water, not hot, not cold just warm. Yes it replaces you fluids you lost while working but it just does not satisfy you. What you want is a cold drink. Maybe it is in the winter and that thermos of coffee is not just warm, no longer hot. Once again it just does not satisfy. The church in Laodicea was like that. They just did not satisfy Jesus. They were a lukewarm church.

You see a cold church can be heated up and rejuvenated. A hot church is out there spreading the Gospel working for the Lord. But a lukewarm church, they are satisfied with the status quo. They are not boat rockers they are fence straddlers. They take no chances and don’t want to upset anyone. They just go along. They have no direction. Their membership is just right and if they add members, well what if they don’t fit in? They are not growing, they are not dying they just exist. And the real problem is they just don’t see that there is a problem so they never change.

Jesus wants us to grow. He wants us to spread the Gospel. When we become complacent we may feel satisfied but we are not growing and we are not doing the Lord’s work. We are just existing, resting on our laurels. When the harvest comes in farmers and their help work from can to can’t. They are trying to get all the crops in before they go bad. They rest after the harvest. Jesus tells us it is harvest time and the workers are few. We need to be busy harvesting souls for the Lord. We can rest later when the job is done.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

