He who began a good work

Paul and Timothy, servants of Christ Jesus, to all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi, with the overseers and deacons: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ. I thank my God in all my remembrance of you, always in every prayer of mine for you all making my prayer with joy, because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now. And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. It is right for me to feel this way about you all, because I hold you in my heart, for you are all partakers with me of grace, both in my imprisonment and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel. Philippians 1:1-7

Over the next few weeks I would like to look at Paul’s letter to the Philippians.

So many times I feel like I am just not making any progress. Sometime it feels like I am going in reverse rather than forward. I look at my life and my struggles and I wonder “will I ever get my life up to par?” Will I ever measure up to those I see around me? I am so far from perfect that perfection is not even a blur on the horizon.

Then I read Paul’s words in Philippians. You see I don’t need to worry about making perfection, which has been guaranteed by God. Once I accepted Christ He began to change me. Little by little with me sometime kicking and screaming and fighting Him along the way. But no matter how much I struggle and fall He is there, ready to pick me up, dust me off and keep changing me.

God will not be denied. He will always finish what He starts. My problem is I want things to happen on my timetable. God has His own timetable. I don’t know why some people seem ahead of me on the road to perfection but I bet if I really knew, they would have the same feelings that I do. Believers are very aware of our short comings and we tend to view others as having arrived. The fact is none of us will really arrive as long as we are here on earth. Once we are in heaven away from sin then we will no longer be tempted and He who began the good work in each of us will finish it.

So be patient with me, God isn’t finished yet, but He will be.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

