If God, Why Evil?: A New Way to Think About the Question by Norman Geisler

I have just finished the newest book by Norman Geisler which in a few short pages answers the question of evil in the world. This book is not meant to be an exhausted study of evil but in a few short pages provides concise answers to questions raised by atheist as well as Christians.

Geisler looks at three views of evil, the nature and origin of evil as well as why evil persists. He also looks at the problem of physical evil, pain, and why hell. In each instance Geisler give answers to the issues brought up by atheists that all of us can use in defense of the faith.

Finally the three appendixes cover animal death before the fall, proofs for God and a very well written article on the doctrinal problems with the short novel “The Shack”

This is a great book for the mature believer as well as anyone with questions about evil.

Have a blessed day,

David

 

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Book Review, God. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If God, Why Evil?: A New Way to Think About the Question by Norman Geisler

  1. Anthony L. says:

    I was hoping you would answer the question.

    • dwwork says:

      The short answer to why there is evil if God exists is free will. Free will allows each of us the choice to follow moral law or ignore it. God could have made humans so we could not choose evil but then we would be little more than robots programmed to do what the programmer chose. God could also force us to obey Him but that would make us slaves. Instead God chose to give us free will knowing in advance that many would choose to move away from Him and do evil.

      Norman Geisler explains this much more eloquently that in can in his book “If God, Why Evil?: A New Way to Think About the Question” it is available on Amazon for $9.48 and as an eBook on Barns & Noble for the Nook.

      I would be happy to answer any additional questions you might have. Please be patient with me as I am relatively new to blogging and work and family take up much of my time. My blog was started to share my thought on Bible verses which I started to share last June with some of my fellow employees and friends. On weekends I sometimes make post related to Apologetics as well as how other religions compare to Christianity.

  2. Pingback: If God, Why Evil? A New Way to Think about the Question | NORMAN GEISLER

Leave a Reply

