Christ is proclaimed

Some indeed preach Christ from envy and rivalry, but others from good will. The latter do it out of love, knowing that I am put here for the defense of the gospel. The former proclaim Christ out of rivalry, not sincerely but thinking to afflict me in my imprisonment. What then? Only that in every way, whether in pretense or in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in that I rejoice. Philippians 1:15-18

It really makes me mad when I see some TV evangelist spend more time talking about sending in money than talking about the gospel. Send in money and they will pray for you. Send in more money and they will heal you, but send in the money. Then I read about the expensive cars they drive, the private planes and the mansions with landscaped grounds and my blood boils.

Yet in today’s verses we are told by Paul that regardless of the motive, when someone preaches the Gospel, Christ is proclaimed. I may get mad, but as Joseph told his brothers what was meant for evil God uses for good. God will use those who seek to profit from Him to reach those who seek. Rather than getting mad I need to remember that God will use the truth in what people proclaim to enlighten and bring the seekers to Him.

Hopefully what I can take away from today’s verses is that even when someone preaches for all the wrong reasons, God will still use them to proclaim the Gospel to the world. Where I need to be investing my time it in helping believers to see past the motives and get to the message of Christ. To help others to grow in their faith and spend less time annoyed and more time doing.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

