To Live Is Christ

Yes, and I will rejoice, for I know that through your prayers and the help of the Spirit of Jesus Christ this will turn out for my deliverance, as it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. If I am to live in the flesh, that means fruitful labor for me. Yet which I shall choose I cannot tell. I am hard pressed between the two. My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better. But to remain in the flesh is more necessary on your account. Convinced of this, I know that I will remain and continue with you all, for your progress and joy in the faith, so that in me you may have ample cause to glory in Christ Jesus, because of my coming to you again. Philippians 1:18b-26

Can you imagine how difficult it would be to be a Roman official trying to deal with Paul? How do you threaten a man who does not fear death? If they say they will execute him he answers great, I get to be with Christ. Say you will keep him alive and he answers great, more time to tell others about Christ. Prison, not a problem he can witness to the guard and other prisoners. Release him and he will witness to the world.

Paul is a great example of not allowing anyone but God to have control over your life. I give other people control over my life all the time. Someone cuts me off in traffic and I and mad, maybe for a few minutes and maybe all day. Somebody is rude and now I am mad. Too often I let small stuff get the best of me. Tow good rule to live by is one, don’t sweat the small stuff. Rule two, most everything is small stuff.

Does it really matter if someone is sitting in your regular seat at church? How big of a crimp in your life will it be if the person in front of you has twenty items in the ten items or less line? The answer is not much if at all. The only really important thing in life is making the right decision regarding where you will spend eternity. Will you spend it with God or without Him?

Really, everything else is small stuff. In fact once you make the correct decision you can be like Paul. I’m dying; great I get to be with Jesus. I’m going to live to 100, fantastic, think of all the people I can share Jesus with.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

