It’s Hard to be Humble

So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. Do nothing from rivalry or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves. Let each of you look not only to his own interests, but also to the interests of others. Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross. Philippians 2:1-8

In the 1980’s Mac David had a hit song with the first line “O Lord it’s hard to be humble when you’re perfect in every way”. It was a fitting song for the 80’s but even more so today. Everyone wants to be famous. We even have celebrities that are famous just for being famous; they have not real talent except to be noticed. People try outrageous stunts to get a few minutes fame on YouTube. In the past it took real talent to become famous, today it seems like it just takes real stupidity to become famous.

As Christians we need to model ourselves to be like Jesus not the world. Of all the people who ever walked the earth, Jesus had the best reason to be prideful and boast. After all He was God, yet He chose to be a humble man, an obedient to God, a servant to all. He willingly went to the most humiliating death possible, death on the cross. Most of us will never be asked to die for our faith but we can each of us live for it. Live it as a humble servant.

This past Sunday I had one of my brief moments of pride. As I was posting my latest item to my blog I saw that on Saturday 68 people had read my blog. For me that was a personal high. Wow, I thought 68 people. Then I was able to put that number in perspective. How many people had been on the internet on Saturday? Most likely hundreds of millions and quiet possible a billion people. Out of all that a mere 68 managed to read my post. Those numbers quickly bring one down to size.

I can accomplish nothing on my own. Everything I do or will do is only by the grace of God. When I take me out of the equation then I can only be humble that God allows me to be an instrument that He works through. The trumpet or the violin has nothing to be proud of. On their own they cannot play a note. But once the master takes up the instrument then beautiful music flows forth. If we let our egos move out of the way then God will use us for a beautiful purpose.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

