Do all things without grumbling

Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast to the word of life, so that in the day of Christ I may be proud that I did not run in vain or labor in vain. Even if I am to be poured out as a drink offering upon the sacrificial offering of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. Likewise you also should be glad and rejoice with me. Philippians 2:14-18

I really hate being around people that do nothing but complain. They constantly grumble about how bad they have it and question everything. Nothing is right and someone else always has it better. Being around people like that drags everyone else down. It is hard to keep a positive attitude around such negativity.

There is nothing wrong with asking questions. That is how we learn and questions also help others better define what they are asking for. I don’t think that is what Paul is talking about. I think Paul is concerned with the malcontent, the complainer, the person who always knows better. When we go about God’s work we need to have a right attitude. If unbelievers see us going about with a poor attitude they see us as no different than anyone else.

I know it is hard to have a positive attitude all the time but most times our attitude is what we want to make it. I often tell my kids that if you go into a task thinking you will fail then you most likely will fail. If we go into God’s work grumbling then that will carry over to those around us. It is amazing how quickly one persons bad attitude can affect the whole group.

We need to set the example for others. If the world sees us with a good positive attitude it starts them to wondering. What do they have, what do they know that I don’t. Then we can share to joy we have in Christ. Joy is a choice. We can choose it no matter what the circumstances.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do all things without grumbling

  1. emianni says:

    This is wonderful, I’ve been studying Philippians 2:1-18 since Sunday! Nice to have some other notes to look at.

    • dwwork says:

      I am glad my thoughts are helpful. I have been doing my blog since around September but this is the first time I have gone through an entire book. I try to make it personal while at the same time being faithful to the truth. Have a blessed day. David

Leave a Reply

