Fellow workers

Therefore, my brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved. I entreat Euodia and I entreat Syntyche to agree in the Lord. Yes, I ask you also, true companion, help these women, who have labored side by side with me in the gospel together with Clement and the rest of my fellow workers, whose names are in the book of life. Philippians 4:1-3

Paul is an encourager, throughout his letters he encourages fellow believers to keep up the faith and keep striving for the goal. We need to encourage each other. Living a Christian life can be hard but for some it can be very difficult. They find themselves working in environments that can try one’s faith. It can be the language used at work or maybe it is the attitudes fellow workers have that can make a believer feel like an outsider.

A call or a quick email of encouragement can be just what a friend needs to keep going and be a light in a very dark place.

Perhaps a brother or sister is going through an illness either their selves or a family member. Maybe they have lost a job. Maybe they are going through some type of family problem. We don’t have to solve the problem all we need to do is offer some encouraging words. Perhaps share a favorite Bible verse.

I know from my own experience writing and sharing my thought each weekday that when I first started I felt like I was in over my head. Why was I doing this? Was it my idea or God’s? Was I feeding others or my own ego? It was the encouragement I got from all of you that helped me overcome my doubts.

Each of us has a roll in the Lord’s work. Some preach, some teach, some go on mission trips. Many are out in front of the crowds, visible to all. We often think of these people as doing the important work, yet it is the encouragers that keep the people in the public view going. They may seem fully confident but they have the same insecurities we all have.

So, thanks for everything you are doing for the Lord. Keep up the good work.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

