Let your requests be made known

Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. Philippians 4:5-6

Paul writes that we are to take everything to God in prayer nut to do this with thanksgiving. We are to be thankful to God when we pray. Many times I find that I am going to God with a laundry list of requests. Sometimes they are for me but many times, maybe most times, they are for others. There is so much to pray for. Friends that are ill. Safety for friends and family when traveling. Protection for my family and there is so much happening in the world that needs prayer.

Sometimes, though not enough, I just thank God when I pray. There is so much I have to be thankful for. That fact that I can get up each morning, that I have a job. I am thankful for my family and my friends. I may have ulcerative colitis but I still have my colon and I have food to eat. My feet may ache and my joints may creak but I can still walk and in a pinch run. My vision may not be what it used to be but I can still see the flowers, my families faces and all the wonders God has created. My hearing is not as good but I can still hear music. Blessings abound all around me I only need to over look the bad to see the wonder of life.

Sometime I just ask questions when I pray. Like why did you choose me to write these messages? Why do I have so much when others have so little? How did my children do so well when they have me as a dad? And I guess the question I ask Him most is how you can love a wretch like me. But then the answer comes, “because you are my child that’s why.”

When we pray we are not telling God anything new. We can never surprise God. He already knows how everything will turn out. So why pray? We should pray not to get something or relay news to God. We should pray because God wants to have a relationship with us. He just wants to have a conversation. Everything that God has done, everything that Jesus has done is all to bring us back to a right relationship with Him. Nothing more nothing less.

When we pray we are talking with God. It is hard for me to grasp but the God who created the universe wants to have a conversation with me. He wants to spend time with me. God who keeps the universe running still has time for me and for each of you. So the next time you give God a call, just spend time talking with Him.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

