The peace of God

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7

If you have really ever felt God’s peace, you will spend the rest of your life trying to get that feeling back. God’s peace is always available to us but we tend to get so caught up in our day to day living that we miss out on it.

Just a few days ago I had this brought to my attention. Amy had left on her mission trip on Friday and even though I knew that communication would be hard to do there I was on Sunday night worrying if everything was alright. I tossed and turned, I thought about what might have gone wrong and I prayed. I could not get to sleep. I needed to know everything was all right. Of course my worrying accomplished nothing except to deprive me on sleep. Finally I stopped and turned it all over to God. Instantly calm came over me and I was able to fall off to sleep.

Sometimes, God send His peace to wash over me. The most dramatic time was the day my dad died. Mom had called to tell me that dad had been rushed to the hospital. I immediately jumped into my car and rushed to Herman in the medical center. There my mom and three brothers waited. Not long after I arrived the hospital chaplain came out to tell us dad had died.

After we said out goodbyes at the hospital we all went over to be with mom at the house. I got back into my car tears running down my face. As I turned out of the parking garage and onto the street I was overwhelmed by God’s peace. It washed over me, surrounded my and covered my. Then I heard “don’t worry your dad is with me, you will see him again.” You see I had always been worried if dad was saved and here when I needed it most God let me know that everything was alright.

When I got to the house I was able to share the good news that dad was fine and in God’s hands. Later that morning as I was going through the cedar chest looking for dad’s discharge papers I found dad’s baptismal certificate dated over thirty years ago. There was a thirty year old document on top of all the papers in that chest.

God’s peace, truly a peace that passes all understanding.

May God’s peace be with all of you,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

