Think about these things

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you. Philippians 4:8-9

There is an old computer saying, garbage in, garbage out. The same is true with our minds. If we fill it with garbage than that is what will come out. Today we are bombarded with so much it is hard to filter out the good from the bad. Some day it seems like there is nothing good coming at us.

We all need to take time to really look at what we are reading, what TV we are watching, what movies we are going to, where we spend our time, who we spend it with and finally where we are going on the internet.

We need to feed our minds just like we feed our bodies. A diet of donuts and Big Macs may taste good and satisfy us in the short term but our bodies will pay the price eventually. Our minds are the same. If we feed it the equivalent of fast food all the time our though processes will suffer. Just as our bodies need good healthy food so our minds need good health input. Now this does not mean we can’t occasionally have a donut, just not all the time.

Some things we should never feed our bodies, they are poisons. It is the same with our minds, some things are poisons. Just as some poisons take time to build up in our bodies so some things we watch or read build up in our minds. Too much violence, too many bad words or thought will build up eventually turning our minds away from what is good.

This doesn’t mean we should read only the Bible or see only Christian movies and read Christian books. We need to engage the world and that means we need to at least be informed as to what the world is doing and thinking. However we do not need to go to X rated web sites to understand that the world thinks they are ok. We can find out how the challenge these things without immersing ourselves in them.

Finally an example from my own life, a few years ago I was taking a class on world religions followed by a class on cults. For almost a year I was reading sacred books for these other religions and writings put out by the cults. Now I was reading these things in order to understand how to witness to others but being immersed in these writing took a toll on me and my thinking. As I look back I think, what if I had read all this when I was a new believer what damage would it have done. After I finished those classes I spent the next couple of years reading nothing but Christian writings.

What we put in our minds really does affect what comes out. We need to think about what is worthy.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

