Whatever situation I am to be content

I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. Philippians 4:10-12

The last thing we in the US are expected to be is content. We are a nation that always wants more. We are never to be satisfied with the status quo. We are constantly told we can never be too rich or too slim. We are supposed to grab all the gusto and claw out way to the top while we are grabbing. Always moving never still stay connected 24/7.

A friend buys a new house and we start looking for one bigger. The neighbors get a new Lexus and we start looking at Mercedes. Or maybe we get a new computer and within days something faster comes out we want that. We have the old IPhone and we want the new one. Old IPad, no I want the newest one. We spend so much time wanting more or newer we never appreciate what we have.

We do the same with people. We are moving up we need new friends that go with our new status. That husband or wife we had in the lean times just does not make a good impression with my new co-workers so out they go, time for a newer younger spouse. And on and on we go, always looking for something or someone better.

We become so focused on what we don’t have that we lose out on enjoying what we have. Not being content causes us to be unhappy but even worse we lose our joy. We tend to associate contentment with complacency. One can be content with what we have now and still be open to new things. Paul was content when he had abundance and he was content when he had little.  Why? His contentment came from Christ and not worldly things.

When our contentment is based on things we will never be satisfied. Things break, the loose their luster and there is always something better coming along. But, if our contentment is based on our relationship with Christ then we have something that is eternal. There will never be anything better or newer and it will never lose its luster.

We can be content with our current station because that is where God needs us to be. Maybe our house is not as big as our friends but just maybe there is a neighbor that needs to hear about Christ. We may not be the boss but maybe a co-worker needs a Christian friend to pray for them.

I know it is hard but we all need to be like Paul, content in whatever circumstance we find ourselves in.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

