Partnership in giving and receiving

Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble. And you Philippians yourselves know that in the beginning of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church entered into partnership with me in giving and receiving, except you only. Even in Thessalonica you sent me help for my needs once and again. Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that increases to your credit. I have received full payment, and more. I am well supplied, having received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God. Philippians 4:14-18

If possible, I think every believer should go on a mission trip to another country. It will really open your eyes. Over the last few years we have heard so much about how bad things are. They economy is bad and many people are out of work yet even so we have it so much better than other countries. I don’t think you will really understand poverty until you see how much of the world lives. When I went on two trips to Latvia in 2005 and 2006 I came away feeling ashamed of how I viewed my life. I had literally packed more cloths than each of the children we were working with owned.

Still I realize than many will not be able to go on a mission trip. They can be expensive and many cannot afford to take of for the ten to twelve days such a trip takes. But we can still do something to enable missions. We can donate to our church’s mission fund and we can support individual missionaries.

For about the past twelve years we have helped support two missionary couples. Please note the word help. Even though they live in other countries we could not afford to fully support even one couple and their families much less two. But if you put our small monthly contribution along with the contributions of others then God’s work gets done in another country.

We get monthly updates on what is happening in the missionaries’ lives and their work. This lets us see how the Lord is working across the globe. Additionally I get emails from the missionaries I worked with in Latvia. Over the last six years we have seen a small Bible study group in the town we visited grow from two women to over forty women, men and children.

So, just as the Philippians supported Paul in his missionary journeys we too can support the current Pauls in their missionary work and be partners in the Lord’s work.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

