Greet every saint

Greet every saint in Christ Jesus. The brothers who are with me greet you. All the saints greet you, especially those of Caesar’s household. The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit. Philippians 4:21-23

I have done something today that I have not done before; I have highlighted one word in today’s verse, saint. When someone mentions a saint who pop into your mind? Maybe you think of one of the saints recognized by the Roman Catholic Church. Possibly you think about Saint Paul or Saint John. Or saint Nicolas. The one saint that probably does not cross your mind is you.

You see long before churches started to recognize saints as especially holy people who performed miracles Paul writes about the saints. The saints he was referring to were the believers in the church, us. Everyone who has accepted Christ is a saint. No church confers this sainthood, God does.

We are each special, set aside from the unbeliever, God’s people. Yes, I know I don’t act like a saint much of the time. But my actions do not remove my sainthood. I am unfinished a work in progress that God will finish in His time. Little by little He is changing me into the saint He already knows me to be.

God does not just see me as I am, He see the finished product. God is like the sculptor who sees in a block of stone the finished statue. As He slowly chips away the old me to allow the new me to show I am changing. Sometimes I do not see the progress and other times it looks like I am going backwards. I know those around me do not always see the progress. Fortunately God see the progress. He sees how He is changing me and that is all that matters.

So the next time someone mentions saints, don’t think about someone else, think of yourself. You are a saint.

Have a blessed day,

David

We have made it through Philippians together. Over the next few days I would like to look at the passion and crucifixion. Then if God wills I will try to book of Romans. Please continue to pray for me and this endeavor.

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

