Institution of the Lord’s Supper

And when the hour came, he reclined at table, and the apostles with him. And he said to them, “I have earnestly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer. For I tell you I will not eat it until it is fulfilled in the kingdom of God.” And he took a cup, and when he had given thanks he said, “Take this, and divide it among yourselves. For I tell you that from now on I will not drink of the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.” And he took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” And likewise the cup after they had eaten, saying, “This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood. But behold, the hand of him who betrays me is with me on the table. For the Son of Man goes as it has been determined, but woe to that man by whom he is betrayed!” And they began to question one another, which of them it could be who was going to do this. Luke 22:14-23

It is near the end of the Passover Seder and tradition has it that it was time for the third cup of wine to be drunk. Jesus had just passed the bread and now the cup. For two thousand years Christians have been celebrating and remembering this third cup and the brad that came before it. Yet the Seder tradition has a forth cup of wine. Christian tradition has it that that night the forth cup was never poured or drank. Did they just forget? Maybe they ran out of wine before the forth cup? It helps to see what the four cups represent in Jewish tradition.

The first is for Kiddush, “I will bring out,” the second is for ‘Maggid’, “I will deliver,” the third is for Birkat Hamazon, “I will redeem,” and the fourth is for Hallel, “I will take.” Jesus stopped at the third cup not because he forgot, did not have time or ran out of wine; He stopped because This Seder would not be finished that night on earth. He stopped because He was getting ready to redeem us. He stopped with the cup of redemption. For within a day he would pour out His blood like wine to redeem each of us. To reconcile us with the Father.

When we celebrate communion we drink the cup of redemption in remembrance of what Christ did for us. His disciples drank from the cup of redemption but the cup Jesus would drink was not wine but the cup of crucifixion. A cup no one else could drink.

There is a forth cup, the cup of “I will take” the cup we will drink with Jesus when He takes us up the heaven. The final cup. I can’t wait.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Easter, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

