Jesus Prays on the Mount of Olives

And he came out and went, as was his custom, to the Mount of Olives, and the disciples followed him. And when he came to the place, he said to them, “Pray that you may not enter into temptation.” And he withdrew from them about a stone’s throw, and knelt down and prayed, saying, “Father, if you are willing, remove this cup from me. Nevertheless, not my will, but yours, be done.” And there appeared to him an angel from heaven, strengthening him. And being in an agony he prayed more earnestly; and his sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground. And when he rose from prayer, he came to the disciples and found them sleeping for sorrow, and he said to them, “Why are you sleeping? Rise and pray that you may not enter into temptation.” Luke 22:39-46

It is Thursday evening, Jesus and His disciples have left the upper room and have gone to the Mont of Olives. We are told this is where Jesus customarily went to pray. It is most likely dark but not terribly late. There is a lot that will happen over the next few hours. Still Jesus takes time to pray. Soon He will be arrested, tried, convicted and sentenced to death. Then he will immediately be executed, no appeals and no chance of pardon. Still Jesus takes time to pray.

It has been a long day and the disciples are tired. They have just finished a big meal. They fall asleep. Jesus had told them to pray, pray not to enter into temptation but they fall asleep instead. Jesus goes off a ways and prays that what is in store for him will be removed. He knows what is going to happen and He asks the Father if there is another way. But, He ends His prayer with “not my will, but yours be done.” The human Jesus wishes there was another way. He knows the pain He will soon have to endure, yet He bows to the wishes of the Father.

God sends and angel to strengthen Jesus and He continues to pray. He is in such agony, such anxiety that he literally sweats blood. He continues to pray. Finally he gets up and returns to His disciples only to find them asleep. He again exhorts them to wake and pray not to fall into temptation. Soon He will be taken from them. Arrested and put on trial.

No matter what happened or was going to happen, Jesus always took time to pray. He never neglected His time with the Father. I know that sometimes when a crisis happens the first thing I do is try to fix it. What I should do is take time to pray. Sometimes I am like the disciples, too tired to pray. I think I will pray tomorrow. Yet, if Jesus can take time when he is about to be arrested to pray what in my life is so important that I cannot spend time with God? Jesus did not get a quick prayer off as He was being arrested He took time, time to be in communion with God. Time we all need to take every day.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, Easter, God. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jesus Prays on the Mount of Olives

  1. Donna Ellis says:

    David, I appreciate your writing on the prayer in the garden. I am doing a devotional for a group of students at Lubbock Christian University and would like your permission to use this piece, if that meets with your approval.
    Sincerely,

    Donna Ellis

    • dwwork says:

      Donna, I would be honored to have you use mo post during your devotional. Please let me know how it goes. God bless you and the students at Lubbock Christian. David

Leave a Reply

