Justified by his grace as a gift

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus. Romans 3:23-26

I love getting and giving gifts. For me finding that perfect gift for someone is a real joy. I have always thought the perfect gift is something the recipient really wants but would not get for themselves. It matches their personality and is unexpected. Watching their eyes light up when they unwrap the gift makes me happy. I think everybody likes getting a gift.

Yet, things that are free are usually looked on with reservation. You get what you pay for. I got my first car when I started college. I made the monthly payments, paid for my own gas, insurance and repairs. Many of my friends also got cars around that time. Some bought their own like me but others were given cars by their parents. The ones that got the free car had a much different attitude about their cars. In fact most of them ran them to the ground. Oil change, what is that. Maintenance, never heard of it. I had one friend that drove her car for three years and never changed the oil. Eventually it just stopped running.

We just don’t place a lot of value on things that are free. I guess that is why so many people want to pay for salvation. If salvation is free, how can it really be any good? There must be a catch. You don’t really mean God just gives it to me with no strings attached? We want to earn what we get. We want to work our way into heaven. Don’t give it to me let me earn it.

But just like that perfect Christmas gift you received, salvation was not free. Yes, you did not pay for the gift, but the person giving it to you did. So with salvation. No we did not pay for it, but it was hardly free. In fact, we could never come up with the price. If it were up to us to pay for it we could never afford salvation. In fact I have a better chance of buying the White House then I have of paying for my own salvation.

God wanted to restore our relationship with Him. He knew there was nothing we could do and no price we could pay to restore that relationship. It was up to God to provide the way and pay the price. His only Son crucified on a cross. His blood spilled for our sins. That was the price that had to be paid and He paid it gladly.

Now the only thing we have to do is accept His gift. He freely give it to us. We just have to say yes.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

