I have made you the father of many nations

That is why it depends on faith, in order that the promise may rest on grace and be guaranteed to all his offspring—not only to the adherent of the law but also to the one who shares the faith of Abraham, who is the father of us all, as it is written, “I have made you the father of many nations”—in the presence of the God in whom he believed, who gives life to the dead and calls into existence the things that do not exist. In hope he believed against hope, that he should become the father of many nations, as he had been told, “So shall your offspring be.” He did not weaken in faith when he considered his own body, which was as good as dead (since he was about a hundred years old), or when he considered the barrenness of Sarah’s womb. No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. That is why his faith was “counted to him as righteousness.” Romans 4:16-22

God chose Abraham to be the father of His chosen people. Not only that, but God tells Abraham that he will be the father of many nations. That is quiet a burden to place on someone. God does not ask us to do easy things. There are times when I am glad that I did not live back when God was directly speaking to people like Abraham or Moses. God did not ask them to go to church on Sunday or maybe spend more time reading His Word, no God told them to do some amazing things and to do them based solely on faith.

A few years back there was a book “Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations” by Alex Harris, Brett Harris that encouraged young Christians to stop going through the motions and get out and do hard things. But it is not just young Christians that need to do hard things, we all need to do hard things. We need to get out of our comfort zone and do hard things for God.

I have spent so much of my Christian life thinking that if I went to church and Bible study on Sundays, maybe attended or hosted a small group study or coached kids at one of the church leagues then I was really doing something. But was I really? How hard is it to show up at a building a few hours one day a week or invite a few friends over to study God’s Word? And coaching, to use a baseball term that was right in my wheel house. No, those weren’t hard things they were easy.

But the really hard thing, the things out of my comfort zone. I could come up with a million excuses why I couldn’t do them. I remember thinking that I would love to go on a mission trip, but couldn’t because of the language barrier. Of course my idea of a mission trip was to go across the border to Mexico and since I don’t speak Spanish there was no way I could be effective.

Of course God never gives up on us and one Saturday I was sitting in church as we held the recognition program at the end of Upwards Basketball and one of the pastors is asking for volunteers to go to Latvia to teach kids how to play baseball, my favorite sport. Of course I came up with plenty of reasons why not to go. When I got home and told Gail about the trip instead of helping me with reasons not to go she simply said “you should go.” And I did. As a matter of fact I went back the next year and God changed me and my outlook forever.

Now, you don’t need to father nations or even go to some foreign land to do God size things. You can do the hard things God asks us to do right here. And you can encourage others to do hard things, sometimes all it takes is to hear someone you love say “you should go” or “you should do it.” The great thing is you are not going to do the hard thing on your own. God will be right there with you giving you everything you need to get His task accomplished. It is said so much it is almost a cliché, but it is still true, God does not call the equipped, He equips the called.

So the next time God is calling you to do something hard don’t shy away, do it.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

