Wretched man that I am!

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin. Romans 7:21-25

Have you ever cried out like Paul in today’s verses? I know I have. There have been times when I cry to God, “How can you possible love someone as bad as me?” At times like these I envy the un-believer. They go through life unconscious of their sins. But mine are like blinding lights causing me anguish and pain. I struggle. I get discouraged. I fail. I find myself reliving past sins unable to let them go.

The God directs me to Paul’s writings. Here is a man that arguable had he not existed then Christianity might still be a small Jewish sect. Paul, who saw the risen Christ. The man who Jesus handpicked to bring the good news to the Gentiles is just like me. He too struggled with sin. He too went through the eternal struggle between mind and body.

We don’t know what sins Paul struggled with. We don’t need to know. I think God chose not to have Paul reveal his sins. That way, whatever sin we are dealing with we can believe that just maybe Paul struggled with the same sin. I find comfort know that a man chosen by God had the same struggles that I have. Then I think I too can get through this. I may still sin, but God will not forsake me. He continues to work in me, changing me little by little and day by day.

Yes, wretched man that I am, God still loves me.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

