For I do not do the good I want

Sorry, got today’s out of order.

 

Did that which is good, then, bring death to me? By no means! It was sin, producing death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure. For we know that the law is spiritual, but I am of the flesh, sold under sin. For I do not understand my own actions. For I do not do what I want, but I do the very thing I hate. Now if I do what I do not want, I agree with the law, that it is good. So now it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh. For I have the desire to do what is right, but not the ability to carry it out. For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me. Romans 7:13-20

Every so often some well meaning Christian will minimize the struggle we all go through with sin. They will tell us that all you need to do is hand it over to God and everything will be ok. What ever sin you have in life will just vanish. Would that is were that easy. Yes, if we hand a problem over to God He will solve it. Problem is letting go. Sometime, most times, we just can’t. The other problem is God’s timing. We just don’t like His timing as it is not ours. We want immediate solutions and sometimes God says wait. So we pick the problem back up and then stumble through our solutions.

Next problem is our flesh. As long as we are in these bodies we will sin. We may sin less, we may even stop the old habits, but we will always find ways to sin. Many times we will rationalize our “minor” sins as just pointing out the problems we see in others, just trying to help. Until we receive our new perfect bodies we will sin. We will see progress, but sin will always be there. Sanctification is progressive not instantaneous. I for one am pretty sure my sanctification will not be complete this side of heaven.

For me Paul’s words are great comfort. If Paul struggled with sin, then who am I to think I will be struggle free. Paul fought his desires and sinful nature and as far as we are told this was an ongoing fight. A fight even Paul could not win this side of heaven. Still Paul kept on striving. He kept on letting the spirit work on his life. And fortunately for me Paul never tried to fool either him or us. He was honest about his struggles. We need to be honest about our struggles also. When we put on a false front in regards to our sin we can cause a brother or sister to doubt their own salvation. If all around them are living “sin free” lives and they still sin, then they can doubt their faith. We should not boast of our sins, just be honest about the struggle.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

