All things work together for good

And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. Romans 8:27-28

In the midst of a great personal tragedy, whether an illness, a death or some other loss, it is comforting to know that the Spirit is there interceding for us with God. Even when we cannot find the words to pray the Spirit is there for us. The Comforter is there with us letting us know that this too will pass and that God will use our current situation for His good purpose.

In the middle of a crisis it is hard to see how good can possible come out of it. How can the death of a child be good? How can cancer be good? How can suffering be good? The answer is none of these are good, but that is not what God is telling us. God is not telling us that a child’s death or cancer or the suffering we are enduring is good. No, God is telling us that from this trouble He will bring about a good. He will use the tragedy we are going through for a good end.

There is an old saying that when life gives you lemons make lemonade. God is the ultimate lemonade maker. No matter how great the tragedy, He will use it for good. A lot of times He will use how you deal with the tragedy to show others what belief in God can do. People see how we handle a tragedy and think, how do they do that, how can they be so strong. Then they think I want what they have. When we let God get us through hard times, others see and just maybe they move closer to God.

This happened to me about 21 years ago. My brother and his wife had just had their first son when she fell very ill and within a matter of days died from an infection caused by a piece of the placenta left after the birth. Here was my brother with a month old baby having to bury his wife. There I was having pretty much left the church behind, rarely thinking about God praying to him don’t do this to my brother give him back his wife take me instead, I was helpless, there was nothing I could do to change the situation. How could this happen?

We planned the funeral. I saw how the people in the church I grew up in came together around my brother. How they cared for him and did their best to comfort him and I wanted that too. I wanted people like that around me and my family. Now I wish I could say that I immediately got myself and family back to church but I can’t. What did happen is my wife started nudging us to go to church and then finally said I am going and I want the rest of you to go with me. God started moving me back to church when my sister-in-law died so I was ready when my wife said go.

Was it a good thing my brother’s wife died, of course not? Did good come out of it, yes?  I guess I would have to admit that I would not be writing this today had not a tragedy happened to my family 21 years ago. I was so hard headed it took a death and a good wife to get me back to God. I like to think that the good wife is all it would have taken but I know for sure that the death got me to thinking about how far from God I had come.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

