Anguish in my heart

I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit— that I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart. For I could wish that I myself were accursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my brothers, my kinsmen according to the flesh. They are Israelites, and to them belong the adoption, the glory, the covenants, the giving of the law, the worship, and the promises. To them belong the patriarchs, and from their race, according to the flesh, is the Christ who is God over all, blessed forever. Amen. Romans 9:1-5

We can really see Paul’s anguish of what he sees in his fellow Jews. The Jews felt that just being Jewish was enough, but Paul writes that one’s heritage was not enough. They needed to follow God not just rules. Because the Jews were so caught up in the letter of the Law they missed the spirit of the Law and they missed the Christ, their Messiah.

Today there are many people who call themselves Christian who when it comes time for the judgment will hear “I never knew you”. Just as the Jews in Jesus’ time thought all they had to do was follow their rules so today we find many people who think just because they go to church few times or their parents were believers then that makes them Christian. God demands more of us than just showing up a few times at church during the year. God wants a commitment from us. He wants a relationship with us. And the only way to have it is to accept what Jesus did for us.

Every Christian should feel the same anguish that Paul felt for the lost among us. We need to show others Christ by our words and more importantly by our actions. We need to be prepared to answer the questions of non-believers with patience and with love.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

