How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news

How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” But they have not all obeyed the gospel. For Isaiah says, “Lord, who has believed what he has heard from us?” So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ. Romans 10:14-17

When I look at my feet, the last word that comes to my mind is beautiful. In fact a quick poll of my family would second that opinion. No, from a human standpoint my feet fall far short of beautiful. But to God not only are my feet beautiful but all of me. When we accept Christ as our Lord we are then commanded to spread the good news.

There are many ways to do this but the best and I think the most important way is how we live. How do others see us? It does not matter what we say or how eloquent we are, if our actions do not support our word we lose our credibility with those we are trying to reach. And those who don’t hear our word but only see our actions, how will they see Christ?

We must always endeavor to have our actions correspond to our belief. Will we fail, yes, always? But we always need to get back up and try again to live as God would have us. We also need o remember, when we speak, that we are all just struggling pilgrims not the perfection we seek to obtain. That God is working in us to perfect us but we are not there yet. We still occupy sinful flesh. Still we must continue to struggle to make our actions and our words agree.

So use those beautiful feet God gave you to spread the Good News. Let everybody know the glory of God that can be theirs just for the asking.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

