Grace would no longer be grace

I ask, then, has God rejected his people? By no means! For I myself am an Israelite, a descendant of Abraham, a member of the tribe of Benjamin. God has not rejected his people whom he foreknew. Do you not know what the Scripture says of Elijah, how he appeals to God against Israel? “Lord, they have killed your prophets, they have demolished your altars, and I alone am left, and they seek my life.” But what is God’s reply to him? “I have kept for myself seven thousand men who have not bowed the knee to Baal.” So too at the present time there is a remnant, chosen by grace. But if it is by grace, it is no longer on the basis of works; otherwise grace would no longer be grace Romans 11:1-6

I am constantly amazed at how many people want to do away with God’s grace and replace it with works. Now in some ways I can understand first century Jews doing this. They had gotten so intent on following not only God’s law but all the myriad manmade laws that they surrounded the law that they lost sight of what God wanted. Of course they also had Jesus in their midst working miracles and teaching the good news so they still should have followed Him. We tend to cling to our preconceptions even when faced with evidence to the contrary.

Still, even though they rejected Jesus, God still loves the Jews. They are still His chosen people. No matter how far Israel fell from God there was still a small number who remained faithful. Elijah was so troubled by what he saw in Israel that he wanted God to destroy them. I have to admit that I probably would have felt the same way. To see your fellow prophets killed. To see the chosen people turn from God to worship a false god. How could I not want them to be punished? Yet God knew that there were a faithful few.

Just as in Elijah’s time there is still a remnant that follows God. God will never forget His chosen People and no matter how far most of the get from God there will always be a few that follow God. For them God’s grace is there for the taking.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

