Is Mormonism a Cult?

Talk about stirring up a hornets’ nest, just call someone’s religion a cult and see what happens. The word cult has taken on such negative connotations today that you might as well insult the person’s mother, you would get the same reaction. When one looks at the definition of cult we see that it means the following: 1: formal religious veneration : worship 2: a system of religious beliefs and ritual; also : its body of adherents 3: a religion regarded as unorthodox or spurious; also its body of adherents. Definition three was what was meant when Mormonism was called a cult recently. As my friend Glenn says in his blog post, it is better to use unorthodox when referring to Mormonism rather than cult or Christian Cult.

Glenn has put together a nice chart comparing orthodox Christianity to Mormonism. Check it out at http://humblesmith.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/is-mormonism-a-cult/ It covers some of the more important differences between the two, though certainly not all. Hopefully this will be of help when dealing with the Mormon religion. You can also check out my blog for a discussion of the Mormon teaching on God at https://dwwork.wordpress.com.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Apologetics, Comentary, Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is Mormonism a Cult?

  1. I completely appreciate this post. As a soon to be Catholic/exMormon, I always wondered why when I entered a Christian bookstore, mormon books were under cults.

    • dwwork says:

      Having a number of Mormon acquaintances I have found that many just do not know what the actual teachings from Smith and the rest really are. Also, there is not a lot of theology books for Mormons. I am glad to see you moving away from the Mormon faith I know that can be at some personal cost. God bless you and I hope my writings will be of help to you.

      David

Leave a comment