Remembering you in my prayers

For this reason, because I have heard of your faith in the Lord Jesus and your love toward all the saints, I do not cease to give thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers, that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of him, having the eyes of your hearts enlightened, that you may know what is the hope to which he has called you, what are the riches of his glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead and seated him at his right hand in the heavenly places, far above all rule and authority and power and dominion, and above every name that is named, not only in this age but also in the one to come. And he put all things under his feet and gave him as head over all things to the church, which is his body, the fullness of him who fills all in all. Ephesians 1:15-23

What a wonderful prayer. I cannot read it and not think how blessed the believers in Ephesus must have felt to hear Paul’s prayer. Just the idea of having Paul pray for you specifically would mean so much. Paul was constantly praying for others. Yet I don’t think Paul’s prayers are any more important to God than your prayers and my prayers.

God wants to hear from us. You can’t have a relationship with someone if you never communicate with them. Prayer is how we communicate with God. Yet too often we neglect the most important relationship we will ever have, our relationship with the creator of the universe. We tend to forget to talk with God except when problems arise. Then we want a quick fix for our problem and God gets put on the back burner until the next crisis. If we treated our friends like this we would soon find that they have left us for more consistent friends. Not God, He won’t desert us but this is not the relationship He has in mind for us.

I try, I don’t always succeed, when I find myself going to God with a laundry list of problems to stop, take a few moments and then think about my blessings. I try to think about what is going on and share these moments and thank Him for the countless blessing He showers on me daily. God does not need my thanks and He sure does not need to know what is going on in my life. No He does not need it, but I do. I need to be able to share my problems and dreams with Him. And He always answers every prayer. Sometime He says yes. Sometimes He says no and sometime He says wait I have something better for you. Sometimes my prayers are not answered the way I want but when I look back they are answered in the way I need.

As Paul tells us pray, pray without ceasing.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

