To him who is able to do far more abundantly

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, forever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21

One of my favorite comic strips is “Zits” which chronicles the events in the life of a teenage boy, Jeremy, and his mom, Connie, and dad, Walt. I think anyone who is a parent of a teenager will be able to identify with the strip. One of my favorites was a strip that had the dad needing to move a large sofa. He asks Jeremy to help him move it and Jeremy picks up the sofa by himself and asked “where do you want it.” Have a son who at the time was 6’5” and almost 300 pounds I really related. Daniel is so strong he can move something that I would think needs at least two men to move. When I need something heavy to move these days I wait until Daniel will be home for the weekend and have him help move it. My helping usually this means me getting out of the way while Daniel does the moving.

In our lives we come to situations that seem beyond our abilities to solve. Some things just seem too big for us to move. Others are too complex for us to grasp much less solve. Fortunately we have someone who can do things we cannot. God, the creator of the universe can do more than we can ever imagine and He is there for us. In situations where it seems like we can never get through them He will guide us through. He will give us strength to handle to toughest problems. He will steady us when our knees are week. He will provide when we have nothing. He will love us when no one else does.

I saw how He strengthened my brother when his wife died just a month after giving birth to their son. I know how He strengthened me when I gave the eulogy at my dad’s funeral. When I was at my lowest in my battle with ulcerative colitis it was He who strengthened me and my family as we dealt with this illness. He answered my prayers for healing when my dad had lung cancer not with the healing I wanted, here on earth, but with an eternal healing so my dad would never suffer again. It was He who put my colitis into remission and in the process made me recognize how pride ruled my life.

We are so blessed to be able to call upon God, knowing He will answer. Knowing that His answer, though not always what we want, is always the right answer. The answer we need. He is always there and He never is too busy to help. What a blessing.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

