Be still Redo

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” – Psalms 49:10

When these words were written over three thousand years ago maybe it was easier to be still. But I doubt it. Maybe they did not have all the distractions we have today, but they were still busy with life, tilling, tending, cleaning, cooking and taking care of family. All this had to be done between sunup and sunset. In those days most people were busy just surviving.

Today we are going 24/7. Most of us finish our work and still have a lot of “free” time. That free time is filled with soccer games, the internet, TV and a host of other diversions. I can easily waste an entire evening catching up on all the TV shows I’ve TIVOed. I can read emails, surf the net or spend hours sorting through the nearly 1,000 photos I took at Daniel’s last football game. My guess is if I could retire today I could spend the next five years just catching up on reading, chores and organizing my pictures.

Today we have more time to get things done and spend less of it on getting to know God.

Each of us needs to carve out time to turn off all the devices and pause for a moment. Get away from the distractions and be still. Let God have His time to communicate with us. Let us have time to communicate with God. Find out if He has been trying to reach us, but we have ignored Him.

We need to stop squirming like a two year old and be still long enough to hear what He has to say.

I bet it is something important.

Blessings,

David

When I first wrote this on September 8, 2010 I erred in one area. I said we should be still so God can reach us and communicate with us. Nothing could be further from the truth. You see if God wants to talk to us nothing we can do will stop Him. To say we need to listen in order to hear God puts us in control not God. God does not try to do something He does it and nothing in the universe can stop Him.

Yes we still need to be still and study God’s Word. We need to get away from the distraction of life to learn what He has to tell us in His Word. If God chooses to talk to any of us there is nothing that will stop Him. We may refuse to act on what he tells us but we cannot refuse to hear.

We still need to stop squirming like two year olds and be still long enough to pray to Him and to read His Word, but all the squirming and noise in the world cannot drown out God.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

