Finishing the race

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 2Timothy 4:7

I am going to interrupt our study of Ephesians for the day. This past week has been tough as I learned of deaths to friends and family of friends. Fits I heard that the 21 year old son of Jim, the head coach at my son’s high school had passed away from brain cancer. Then I learned that a friend and coworker Joni’s mother had passed. Finally I learned today that another friend and coworker, Hilary, had lost her battle with cancer. I am saddened by these losses but I am overjoyed that each was a believer.

When a believer leaves this life on earth they are just starting their real life with Jesus. So rather than think of death as an ending I think of it as a beginning. A homecoming. I know that I will get to see all of them when it is my time to finish my race.

We all need to fight the good fight, telling others about the Good News of Jesus Christ. Living our lives as a living Bible to others so that they can see what Christ means to us and want what we have. We need to keep the faith, doing the good works God has planned for us. We need to spend time with God and in His Word, doing that we will finish the race victorious.

Each of us will run a race of different lengths. Some will be more like sprints, other like marathons. But as believers each race will finish at the same place heaven. Once there we can be greeted with well done good and faithful servant. Fight the good fight; keep the faith and finish strong.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

