Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners

I thank him who has given me strength, Christ Jesus our Lord, because he judged me faithful, appointing me to his service, though formerly I was a blasphemer, persecutor, and insolent opponent. But I received mercy because I had acted ignorantly in unbelief, and the grace of our Lord overflowed for me with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. But I received mercy for this reason, that in me, as the foremost, Jesus Christ might display his perfect patience as an example to those who were to believe in him for eternal life. To the King of the ages, immortal, invisible, the only God, be honor and glory forever and ever. Amen. 1 Timothy 1:12-17

So many people think that in order to be acceptable to God, they first have to get their lives in order. “Let me just stop doing fill in the blank and then I will be good enough to follow Christ. Some think there is no way I can stop drinking, using drugs or a host of other things so how can I possible be saved. The good news is God is not looking for the righteous He is looking for us sinners. There is no sin so great that

God cannot wash it away. There is no sin so great that Jesus’ death and resurrection cannot cover.

In the Bible we just need to look at Paul. Here is a man persecuting the Church. It is bringing believers before the courts in Jerusalem to be found guilty of heresy and put to death. In fact when Jesus called Paul he was on his way to Damascus to find and bring back Christians for punishment. Jesus did not wait for Paul to change, Jesus changed Paul.

We will never be able to get our lives good enough to go before God. We do not have to power to make such changes in our lives. We don’t have to, God will change us. Once we accept Jesus’ payment for our sins then God will start the change. It won’t happen all at once, we are still in our sinful flesh, but we will change. Every day will see us coming closer to what we were created to be. Jesus came to save sinners like me. He did not come to call the sinless, sinless people have no need for a savior.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

