Soul Surfer – Movie Review

I finally got around to watching Soul Surfer over the Christmas holiday and I just wish I had seen it in the theater. I would recommend this movie just on the scenery alone but it has a strong story that is well acted. It is a movie about a Christian family not a Christian movie. The worship scenes and other overtly Christian scenes and dialog are not forced but develop naturally in the course of the movie.

Soul Surfer moves us through the life of Bethany Hamilton who at thirteen has her left arm bitten off by a shark. It follows her recovery both physical and mental and shows her struggle to be able to sure again at the high level she had before the attack. Bethany is played by AnnaSophia Robb and her parents are portrayed by Dennis Quaid and Helen Hunt. The acting is first class throughout the movie.

This movie really underscores the verse in Philippians 4 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Not only is this girl and her  family able to over the devastating injury of having an arm bitten off in a shark attack but she finds the strength to continue to surf, a sport she loves. Be prepared to shed a few tears while watching but I think this is one I could watch multiple times.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Comentary, Video/Movie Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

