One God

I thank God whom I serve, as did my ancestors, with a clear conscience, as I remember you inconstantly in my prayers night and day. 2 Timothy 1:3

Some people would have us believe that there are two gods in the Bible, the Old Testament god full of wrath always looking to punish and destroy. This god is vengeful and petty. Then there is the New Testament god, the god of love and peace. Kind of like a cosmic hippie.  A cursory look at the Bible might lead one to this two gods conclusion but if one really reads the Bible they will see that there is one and only one God in the Bible.

In today’s verse Paul writes that he serves the same God as his ancestors served. Paul did not worship multiple gods; no he worshiped the one true God. The God who created the universe and led Israel out of bondage into the Promised Land. The same God who took on flesh and lived among us. Who willingly went to a death on a cross, died and was resurrected. Paul so no conflict between God’s actions in the Old testament, Paul’s Bible, and what He did and taught as the Son. We see God’s love in the Old Testament in how He constantly looked over Israel and forgave them when they came to Him in repentance. We also see God’s anger when He took the Jewish ruling class to task for their lip service to His Word.

God is unchanging. Yes, He punishes sin. He also forgives sin. His goodness requires that no sin come before Him, but His goodness is so great that he provides a way for the worst sinner among us to be cleansed of all sin and stand before Him in righteousness. One God. One way. Christ.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One God

  1. Sometime, I feel awkward to read Christian believe to One God and give a different thought about salvation, grace, etc.

    Or may be, it just my feeling.

    • dwwork says:

      I know that there can be some confusion as to the Christian belief of one God. I do not know if you have read the Bible but it clearly teaches that there is only one God. But it also teaches that Jehovah, the father is God. The the Holy Sprite is God and That Jesus is God. Christian teaching dating back to the first century AD is that God is on person with three personalities. I wish that there was a better way to explain it or that I was more knowledgeable to explain the concept of the Trinity. As to salvation, it come from the atoning death of Jesus on the cross and His resurrection. We are saved by the grace of God alone through our faith alone in Christ alone. I would love to correspond further on this.

      • I just start to read Bible, and I read verse to verse style, 1 chapter per day(just finish Mark and half Acts).

        When I read it further, and try understand the meaning of the word “Son of God”, Adonai, Adoni, Salvation, etc. Sometime I feel, in bible itself, Jesus is just a messenger as per what he claim in Marks.

        Of course, I still early to make conclusion.

      • dwwork says:

        If you want to see Jesus as more than just a messenger then I would suggest reading the Gospel of John. John wrote his Gospel to show the divinity of Jesus. Also, if you have any questions please let me know and I will try to answer them.

        In Christ,

        David

      • dwwork says:

        Hifzan, I just wanted to check to see how your reading of the Book of Acts was going. If you have any questions, please let me know and I will do my best to answer them. Also, next month I hope to start a study of the Gospel of John. have a blessed day, David

    • Just finish galatians and starting James.

Leave a Reply

