He knew all people

Now when he was in Jerusalem at the Passover Feast, many believed in his name when they saw the signs that he was doing. But Jesus on his part did not entrust himself to them, because he knew all people and needed no one to bear witness about man, for he himself knew what was in man. John 2:23-25

One of the attributes of God is omniscience, all knowing. In today’s verses John once again shows how Jesus had the attributes of God. Jesus knows all people, not only knows them but knows what is in their hearts. He knew that while the people would be swayed by the miracles Jesus did eventually they would turn on Him when they did not get what they wanted.

Once the miracles ceased the people wanted more. More bread, more healing, more show. But Jesus was not performing for the people, the miracles He did were to show He was from God. God’s prophets were always able to make short term prophesies or work miracles to show that they were from God. The Son of God was no different in this respect. These miracles were a sign that Jesus was who He said He was.

The Jews focus was on the here and now. What they wanted from the Messiah was not redemption or reconciliation with God; they wanted someone to free them from the Roman oppression. For close to five hundred years they had be subjugated to one power or another. They longed for the times of David and Solomon.

We are all like that with God, I know I am. I know what I want Him to do for me and I know what will make me happy or at least I think I know. So I get frustrated when God tells me no or wait. Like a two year old I want what I want now not some undetermined time in the future. I think I know myself better than God knows me. Yet today, once again I am told that Jesus knows me. He knows me better than I know myself.

The great thing is even though He knows me; He still loves me and wants what is best for me. He knows my innermost thoughts and He knows how I will react to circumstances I have never encountered.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

