To do the will of him who sent me

Meanwhile the disciples were urging him, saying, “Rabbi, eat.” But he said to them, “I have food to eat that you do not know about.” So the disciples said to one another, “Has anyone brought him something to eat?” Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work. John 4:31-34

Sometimes people can take verses like today’s and make a bad conclusion. Did Jesus need to eat, of course he did. He was human in every way. His body needed nourishment just like yours and mine do. It wasn’t that Jesus did not need to eat; He was just so involved in His task that hunger just did not come to play. He had just spread the Good News to the Samaritan woman and she had gone off to tell the town that one she suspected to be the Messiah was here at their well. So, for Jesus eating was the last thing on His mind.

Now this is not all that unusual. I know myself that I can get so caught up in what I am doing that I will forget to stop and eat lunch. This is especially true when I get going on a project in the yard. I get in a rhythm working and just keep on going. Now if I can let some yard work cause me to not need to stop and eat lunch, just think how much more what Jesus was doing would keep Him from stopping to eat lunch. He was busy doing the work the Father had sent Him to earth to do, eating was just not that important. I am sure that when His body really needed nourishment that Jesus stopped to eat.

Jesus as God did not need to eat. Jesus as man did need to eat; He just did not need to eat when the disciples thought He should eat. He had a lot to do and He knew that there was not that much time to do it. I don’t know about you, but I could really stand to skip a few meals to do God’s work.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

