One sows and another reaps

For here the saying holds true, ‘One sows and another reaps.’ I sent you to reap that for which you did not labor. Others have labored, and you have entered into their labor.” John 4:37-38

A farmer sows his fields and when the crop is ready he reaps to harvest. He does the initial work and in time reaps the benefits of his work. Thinks are different when it comes to bringing someone to Christ. The person who sows the seeds of the Gospel is not necessarily the one there to lead a person to Christ, reap the harvest. To us humans this just doesn’t sound fair. I do all the work and someone else gets the joy of seeing that person come to Christ? Something is wrong with this picture.

Something is wrong all right but it is not with how things work it is with us. We are not the farmer; we are just the hired hands. Jesus is the farmer. He supplies us with all the tools we need to get the work done and when the time is right it is He who reaps the benefits. We get so caught up in the end result we forget how much needs to be done to get the result. Not all of us have the gifts to help a person make that last step from unbeliever to believer. But we all have gifts that will help that person on their road to salvation.

Personally the only two people I know I helped make that last step were our two youngest and really, I am not 100% sure of that. I do know that I have the gift of teaching and a passable gift of writing but I am not sure I have the confidence to do that last bit of reaping. What I have learned over the last two years writing these devotionals is that my words reach people I have never met and most likely will never meet here on earth.

This was brought home to me these past few months when I went over the statistics from my blog. Over four thousand people read my blog in 2011 and the readers were from countries all over the world. Now, these numbers may look large but they are infinitesimal compared to the millions upon millions on the internet. Still maybe of those four thousand a seed or two were planted ready for someone else to water and fertilize, someone to weed and hopefully  someone to harvest. I have had exchanges with a young Muslim from Malaysia and a young atheist here in the states. We have so many opportunities to reach people today. I may never know which seeds fell on fertile ground and which fell in the rocks but I do know that seed never sown will never sprout.

So keep sowing and rejoice in the privilege of being allowed to sow the seed. And reapers take a moment to thank the Lord for all the sowers, weeders and caretakers that allowed you to reap another soul for Christ. For me I’ll keep on sowing as long as the Lord allows and who knows, maybe a little reaping.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

