The man believed the word that Jesus spoke

The official said to him, “Sir, come down before my child dies.” Jesus said to him, “Go; your son will live.” The man believed the word that Jesus spoke to him and went on his way. As he was going down, his servants met him and told him that his son was recovering. So he asked them the hour when he began to get better, and they said to him, “Yesterday at the seventh hour the fever left him.” The father knew that was the hour when Jesus had said to him, “Your son will live.” And he himself believed, and all his household. This was now the second sign that Jesus did when he had come from Judea to Galilee. John 4:49-54

People flocked to Jesus to see Him perform miracles. They would leave disappointed when he did not. Even those who witnessed the miracles would many times not believe the message Jesus brought. They saw, they heard and they left unconvinced. And then there is the father in today’s verses.

He has walked at least a day to get to Jesus leaving his seriously ill son in the hope that he can convince Jesus to come and heal his child. When he finally gets to Jesus and tell Jesus that his child is dying Jesus tell the father to go home his son will live. Jesus doesn’t go with the man all He does is tell the man the boy will live. What amazes me about this story is that the father does what Jesus told him to do, he goes home. He goes home without Jesus. Such faith.

I really believe you have to have a child to truly understand how much faith this father had in Jesus. I know that I would do just about anything to save one of my children. When our youngest was just a few months old he ran a 105 degree fever that we just could not get down. It started in the early evening and Tylenol and cool baths just did nothing. Finally we took Daniel to the hospital emergency room where doctors performed test after test trying to find the cause and did one thing after another to bring down the fever. The last test was a spinal tap to see if there was an infection in the brain. Like that father in today’s story I too called on Jesus. And like in the story Jesus did not come to the hospital. But, then about five in the morning the fever broke. To this day no one knows what caused the fever. All I do know is who caused the fever to end.

I would like to think that had we lived in the first century and Daniel was so ill that I would need to journey to find the healer Jesus that when he told me to go home Daniel is healed I would do the same as that father, that my faith would be that strong. Maybe I would have insisted that Jesus come with me but I hope that when He told me to go my son is healed I would have left for home.

This healing caused not only the father to believe but the whole household to believe. A child dying and then suddenly well will do that to you. Jesus healed then and He still heals today.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

