There is another who bears witness about me

“I can do nothing on my own. As I hear, I judge, and my judgment is just, because I seek not my own will but the will of him who sent me. If I alone bear witness about myself, my testimony is not true. There is another who bears witness about me, and I know that the testimony that he bears about me is true. You sent to John, and he has borne witness to the truth. Not that the testimony that I receive is from man, but I say these things so that you may be saved. He was a burning and shining lamp, and you were willing to rejoice for a while in his light. But the testimony that I have is greater than that of John. For the works that the Father has given me to accomplish, the very works that I am doing, bear witness about me that the Father has sent me. And the Father who sent me has himself borne witness about me. His voice you have never heard, his form you have never seen, and you do not have his word abiding in you, for you do not believe the one whom he has sent. John 5:30-28

It is not as if the Jews living during Jesus’ ministry were not told who Jesus was. John the Baptist had given witness that Jesus was the Messiah. In fact this was the focus of his ministry. He claimed he was there to prepare the way. But, Jesus did not need John’s witness for He had a witness far more credible than John.

God the Father also bore witness to who Jesus was. We see that at the time of Jesus’ baptism when God said “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.” We also see the Spirit of God descending on Jesus like a dove. So in addition to John we see that both God the Father and the Holy Spirit also testified that Jesus was the Messiah, the Son of God.

And if this was not enough, Jesus own actions also testified that He was the Son of God, the long awaited Messiah of the Jews. Jesus’ testimony was in the authority of His word and His knowledge of scripture. It was also in the many miracles He had performed so far. Form the turning water into wine to the many healings He performed, some from a distance. Now miracles alone would not necessarily qualify for one to be the Messiah, many Old Testament prophets performed miracles, but miracles attest that the person performing them was from God and to be believed. So the Jews should have believed what Jesus claimed.

Still in the face of all this testimony they refused to believe. Why did they not believe? Jesus tells them straight out it was because the word of God did not abide in them. They had become so wrapped up in their own teachings and traditions that they had lost sight of what God was telling them in the scripture. All the signs and predictions were there and they refused to believe.

Today, just as then we all need to be in God’s word, keeping it in our hearts. When you read and study His word the truth will be revealed and you will believe.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

