How in the world did I wind up doing this?

All Scripture is breathed out by God and  profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in  righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped  for every good work.  2 Timothy 3:16-17

I am taking a short break from John’s Gospel today to reflect on how I got started writing these daily devotionals. I will be on vacation Thursday and Friday, but will get back to John on Monday.

This Saturday, June 23, 2012 marks the second anniversary of the start of my writing these short devotionals. If I had been asked before I started if I would ever do something like this I would have given an emphatic no! In fact, I am still rather amazed that I am doing it. Don’t get me wrong, I have always wanted to write, I just was never that good. I pictured myself writing some great science fiction novel or maybe a mystery or horror story. I have lost count of the many time I started only to realize that what I had written was pretty bad, boring and very wooden. So I had pretty much given up on the great American novel.

Then one Sunday sitting in our Bible study class our teacher, Betty Carpenter, used one of my favorite verses, 2 Chronicles 7:14, “if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” I really felt that I needed to share my thoughts on this verse and the following Wednesday I emailed my first devotional to the people on my prayer email list here at work.

I remember thinking that was enjoyable and I thought I would do so for a few more weeks. I have had this list of favorite verses for a number of years and thought that since there were only about ten on the list I would do them and be done. God, I guess had other thoughts. As to God’s thoughts, I wish I could take credit for all the writing but to be honest I know it is not just me. Don’t get me wrong, no way is what I do inspired as the writers of the Bible were but I do feel that when I get out of the way and let the Holy Spirit lead something good happens. I will take credit for all the typos, misspellings and wrong words used but it is really more God than me.

I try to keep these writings short, to the point and personal. I can stare at a verse for hours with nothing coming and then suddenly I will finish one is a few minutes. A lot of times I stop writing and I am not really sure why. I have more to say and want to say it but I just stop. I have lost track of how many I have written, After encouragement from some of you I started a blog  in August 2010 and the count there is over 430, so let’s go with that number. As to how many more I have to write only God knows.

I do know that I will keep going as long as I feel God’s hand in this endeavor and as long as each of you readers, friends and brothers and sisters keep encouraging me and we all learn a little more about our Lord and Savior.

Thanks to all of you and have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Comentary, God and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

