Abraham is our father

They answered him, “Abraham is our father.” Jesus said to them, “If you were Abraham’s children, you would be doing the works Abraham did, but now you seek to kill me, a man who has told you the truth that I heard from God. This is not what Abraham did. You are doing the works your father did.” They said to him, “We were not born of sexual immorality. We have one Father—even God.” Jesus said to them, “If God were your Father, you would love me, for I came from God and I am here. I came not of my own accord, but he sent me. Why do you not understand what I say? It is because you cannot bear to hear my word. John 8:39-43

The Jewish authorities were so caught up in following Abraham that they had lost sight of God. But the sad thing is that is they really were living by Abraham’s example then their faith would have been in God and His word. Then just maybe, they would have been able to see Jesus for who He was, God’s Messiah.

Each of us can be so into a thing or individual that we lose sight of God. We see that happening when dynamic preachers end up with followers that come to hear them and not the Word. When this happens that church or group turns into a personality cult and the person becomes bigger then Christ. In the first century the Jews were more interested in following Abraham than in following Jesus.

It isn’t just people that we allow to come before God. When we let a hobby take over our life we can lose sight of God. Our job or maybe our families can become so all consuming that they take God’s place. Maybe we become so busy that we have no time for God. I know that eighteen years ago I thought there was just no time for church. My wife and I both worked. We had a two year old and a four year old as well as a thirteen year old. Weekends were spent getting groceries, taking care of the yard and the house and getting a little rest before we were back to work on Monday. There was no time left for anything else. I did what many people do, I cut out God.

Then in March of 1994 Gail made a decision that we were going to find a church and we were all going. So one Sunday we set out for a church only to find we had the time wrong and it was already half over. However we passed another church on the way that was just getting ready to start. We went there and have been members of a church ever since.

Funny thing, somehow we still found time to do the shopping, mow the yard and get our rest and go to church every Sunday. It seems that when one gets their priorities right and places God first everything else seems to fall in line. I will always be thankful that Gail decided to make us go that Sunday.

Now, if only she had been around to get the priest and Pharisees pointed in the right direction. The sad thing is most of them never took the time to see what God was doing right in their midst. They were so busy being religions they missed the greatest God event in history. They could not find time for God’s Messiah when He was among them and rejected Him. Now, like all who reject Christ, they will be rejected from God’s kingdom, forever to spend eternity separated from God.

The biggest decision anyone will ever make is to accept or reject Jesus. Accept and spend eternity with Him. Reject and spend all eternity in regret. They choice is ours.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

