How can a man who is a sinner do such signs?

They brought to the Pharisees the man who had formerly been blind. Now it was a Sabbath day when Jesus made the mud and opened his eyes. So the Pharisees again asked him how he had received his sight. And he said to them, “He put mud on my eyes, and I washed, and I see.” Some of the Pharisees said, “This man is not from God, for he does not keep the Sabbath.” But others said, “How can a man who is a sinner do such signs?” And there was a division among them. So they said again to the blind man, “What do you say about him, since he has opened your eyes?” He said, “He is a prophet.” John 9:13-17

I love to read. As far back as I can remember I have loved reading. Over the years my tastes have changed but never my love of the written word. I am not a very fast reader so some books can take me a long time to get through. Although no one knew it when I was young, I am probably mildly dyslexic. I have come to this self diagnosis after our son was diagnosed as dyslexic and I became familiar with the symptoms. Still slow reader or not, dyslexic or not I love to read. However, sometimes I find that when I am distracted I can read something and not really see what the author means. Or at times I will let my personal biases and feelings put a wrong interpretation on what I am reading only to come back later and see how far I missed the point. We can do this with God’s Word.

I think that is what happened with the scribes, priests and Pharisees. They had read the scriptures but they were so caught up in keeping the status quo that many missed the greatest event in history. They missed the fulfillment of God’s promise. They missed the Messiah. Now not everyone was incapable of see Jesus for whom He really was. As we see in today’s verses they could not see how a sinners could do the things Jesus did. These types of miracles had been a sign that the person performing them was from God throughout the history of Israel.

They had all the information they needed to identify the Messiah, they just refused to believe. Not because Jesus did not do the things the Messiah was supposed to do, but because He did not fit into their idea of the Messiah. It is the same today. God has provided us with all the information we need to follow Christ. But because He does not fit what we want in a Savior many refuse to follow Him. People want God; they just want Him on their terms. You don’t bargain with God, He is who He is. To put it in modern terms, it is God’s way or the highway and the highway does not lead to a very pretty place.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

