No one will snatch them out of my hand

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.” John 10:27-30

I have often used today’s verses when answering someone’s questions about losing their salvation. There are many who think if they screw-up, God will just forget them and not let them into heaven. Fortunately God is a God of second chances. One only need look at Israel to see how many times they messed up and even abandoned God, yet God constantly forgave them and He never abandoned them.

Once we are His we are eternally His. Yes we will mess up. We may even turn away from God think we can do it on our own. In fact we will continue to mess up until we finally graduate from this life to the next. God however, will never give up on us. He has promised to finish what He starts in each of us.

Satan cannot take away our salvation. He may fool us and may get us to sin but he has no power to change our eternal destiny. Our friends cannot take away our salvation. They may lead us astray but they too cannot upset God’s plan for us. We cannot give our salvation away, we may sin and we may fall but God will not abandon us. Jesus tells us no one can take us out of His hand, no one.

Jesus does not say almost no one can take us out of His hand. He does no say a few may be able to take us out of His hand but most cannot. No, He says no one can take us away from him. When someone tells me what about his situation, won’t that end our salvation; I tell them what part of no one is hard to understand. Once we have accepted Christ we are His. And once we are His we are eternally His, no ifs ands or buts.

What I cannot answer, what no person can answer is if a person is really saved. We cannot really know another’s heart. There are many people going through the motions of being Christian, but they have never accepted Christ into their lives. They have not confessed their sins and asked Him into their lives. You aren’t saved by osmosis; salvation is an act, one that each person must take on their own.

The Bible tells us that if we confess Jesus as our Lord and confess (take responsibility) for our sine and repent then we are His. Once that is done you will know and those around you will start seeing a changed life. Will you have doubts, unfortunately most likely yes? We are still in our sinful flesh so at times we will do something that causes us to doubt. And, Satan will never miss a chance to put doubt in our minds. But doubts do not equal loss of salvation.

We are His and we are eternally His. Jesus did all the work all we have to do is accept His work on the cross. Then, for all eternity we are His and no one can change that.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No one will snatch them out of my hand

  1. Thank you and I agree with you dwwork in the Truth that Jesus will not abandon us, and it is confirmed in Scripture, the unforgivable sin is not us falling into sin before our flesh is put to death and we are perfected in Love, which is what we are all to aim for but it is falling away, meaning rejecting Jesus as our Lord and Saviour , how can we be forgiven if we reject the One who brings forgiveness.

    I fell badly into sin but thankfully Jesus rescued me, yes I reaped what I sowed and suffered greatly but when I came to my senses God restored me, blessed me greatly and fed me from His abundant bounty, so that even in hardship, I know deep Joy.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  2. Darcy Lee says:

    I found something in conflict with scripture that you wrote. I’m currently reading John 10:28 I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. I have this memory as a kid of someone stating that he was snatching them out of my hand after I demonstrated something. About the conflict in scripture I was just kidding. I don’t know the bible that well to say your wrong. But I had ya going.

    • dwwork says:

      Darcy Lee, I know that as you continue to read God’s Word you will find as I did that there are no contradictions. There are however some things that can be hard to understand and some things that we all need help reconciling. I have spent years going back and forth with my bests friend who is Catholic over this very point. I believe that the main thing we need to know is that God will never go back on His promises to us. I always encourage everyone to read the entire Bible. You can start with Genesis or Matthew but keep on reading until you have read it all. It is amazing how something written over thousands of years hangs together in cohesive narrative. Only by the hand of God. Have a blessed day and thanks for your comment. David

Leave a Reply

