He sees the light of this world

Then after this he said to the disciples, “Let us go to Judea again.” The disciples said to him, “Rabbi, the Jews were just now seeking to stone you, and are you going there again?” Jesus answered, “Are there not twelve hours in the day? If anyone walks in the day, he does not stumble, because he sees the light of this world. But if anyone walks in the night, he stumbles, because the light is not in him.”  John 11:7-10

We love walking in the dark. Think about it, have you ever gotten up in the middle of the night to get a drink? You walk to the kitchen but rather than turn on a light you fumble in the dark, find a glass, turn on the water and get your drink. Why bother to turn a light on, this is your home and you know where everything is, right? Of course you do, right up until the moment you stub your big toe on something or maybe step on something.

I have lost count on how many times I have stubbed my toe and stepping on things, all the time. I have stepped on toys of various shapes and sizes, LEGOs, boy they hurt, a thumb tack, that is a story for another time and even an occasional cat, they get out of the way quick. You would think that with my track record I would turn on the occasional light. You would think but you would be wrong. No we walk in the dark because we think we are in control.

Now when I walk through my house in the dark at most I will suffer a minor injury and most time nothing will happen at all. The consequences of walking in a dark house are for the most part minor. Walking in spiritual darkness, now that is completely different. You risk a lot more than a hurt toe or an angry cat, you risk eternity. God brought His light to the world when He came down from heaven, took on flesh and walked among us. That light is still available to any who seek it.

Those who prefer to walk in the spiritual dark are making the same mistake I make walking in my darken house, they too think they are in control. They think they know their way around. They think they can handle all the problems the dark can throw at them. When things go wrong, they may curse the darkness but they refuse to avail themselves of the light.

Jesus told His disciples that they needed to walk with Him while He was with them but His light did not leave the world when He did, it is still here for any who chose to see. Jesus may have gone back to heaven but He left the Holy Spirit for us. His light still shines.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

