I will draw all people to myself

“Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But for this purpose I have come to this hour. Father, glorify your name.” Then a voice came from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.” The crowd that stood there and heard it said that it had thundered. Others said, “An angel has spoken to him.” Jesus answered, “This voice has come for your sake, not mine. Now is the judgment of this world; now will the ruler of this world be cast out. And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” He said this to show by what kind of death he was going to die. So the crowd answered him, “We have heard from the Law that the Christ remains forever. How can you say that the Son of Man must be lifted up? Who is this Son of Man?” So Jesus said to them, “The light is among you for a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you. The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going. While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.” John 12:27-36

Jesus’ earthly ministry was directed to the Jews but what was going to happen in a few days would draw in the entire world, Jew and Gentile. He walked everywhere He went and stayed in among the Jews the entire time. Only rarely did Jesus minister to anyone but the Jews. Yet His earthly ministry was not why He came to us.

People before and since have had earthly ministries and if that is all Jesus did he would have been no different. In fact, if that was all He did it is a good chance we would have never heard of Jesus. He did not come to teach, He came to die. People get so caught up in His teaching that many miss the most important point of why He came to earth. Too many people think of Jesus as a great teacher or a great man, a guru to Israel and yes He was a great teacher and a great man but that is not why billions follow Him.

He came to die, and that is why we follow Him. He came to conquer sin and death and that is why we follow Him. He came to reconcile man with God and that is why we follow Him. He came to save and that is why we follow Him. All His teachings would be for naught if He had not died on that cross. All His teaching would be for naught if He had not risen on that Sunday.

That is why He came, not to teach but to save. He came to save me and he came to save you. All anyone has to do is accept what He did for each of us and then they can live eternally with God.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

