They loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God

Isaiah said these things because he saw his glory and spoke of him. Nevertheless, many even of the authorities believed in him, but for fear of the Pharisees they did not confess it, so that they would not be put out of the synagogue; for they loved the glory that comes from man more than the glory that comes from God. John 12:41-43

Have you ever been afraid to let you Christianity show? I am not talking about being in an area of the world where believers are killed just for professing Christ; I am talking about your day to day life. If you haven’t, then I am impressed because I confess to keeping quiet to fit in with those around me.

I have been in a group and someone tells an off color joke and I laugh along with the crowd, maybe I laughed harder, so I wouldn’t stand out as being one of those sour Christians. Maybe someone is telling the latest scoop on some friend and you listen along with the rest. Maybe you are a businessman taking a customer out and he wants to go to a strip joint so you take him. We do so many things to fit in with the crowd when we have an opportunity to make a stand for Christ.

We may not think so but we are more like the authorities in today’s verses who believed but kept their belief hidden so they would keep their earthly station and power. We all tend to love the accolades of those around us rather than God. Rather than take a stand for Christ we either sit in silence or join in on behavior we should avoid. We want to be part of the group and we do not want others to think we are prudish or heaven forbid no fun.

What should we do? Refuse to listen to gossip and try to stop others from the practice. Let others know you don’t appreciate the off color jokes. Watch your speech; don’t join in when others curse. But, do all this in a loving manner. Don’t come across as better than the others. Also, let them know you can have fun, just not at the expense of others.

We all want to fit in and be part of the group. As Christians however, we are set apart. We are to be salt and light to a world walking in darkness.

Have a blessed day,

David

PS: Monday was the two years anniversary of my first blog post. While most of my posts consist of these daily devotionals on weekends I frequently post book and movie review as well as apologetic posts. Over the past few months I have posted on the Problem of evil and currently on the proofs for God.

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

