I did not come to judge the world but to save the world

And Jesus cried out and said, “Whoever believes in me, believes not in me but in him who sent me. And whoever sees me sees him who sent me. I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness. If anyone hears my words and does not keep them, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world. The one who rejects me and does not receive my words has a judge; the word that I have spoken will judge him on the last day. For I have not spoken on my own authority, but the Father who sent me has himself given me a commandment—what to say and what to speak. And I know that his commandment is eternal life. What I say, therefore, I say as the Father has told me.” John 12:44-50

First century Jews had certain expectations of the Messiah. They were familiar with scripture and knew the approximate time of His coming and what he was to do. What they did not expect was that the Messiah would have to die. In their defense, God did not make a clear delineation of the Messiah’s double role, that of savior and king. Jesus however made clear that His coming to earth did have two distinct goals. First He came to save each of us. It is only later that He will judge all mankind.

Without Jesus people would be under the law. Unfortunately for those under the law people because of their sin nature cannot keep the law. We will always break God’s law. And just as with man’s law if you break any part of the law you are to be punished. It does no good to plead that you kept most of the laws. You are not punished for laws you keep but the ones you break. If you are caught speeding it does no good to tell the officer that you always stop at every red light and stop sign. Just because you obeyed some of the laws does not get you out of the one you broke nor does it reduce the punishment.

So we may live an almost perfect life but we just cannot help ourselves when we curse by taking God’s name in vain. We still have sinned against God and that sin; maybe it is your only sin, demands punishment. The punishment for breaking any of God’s laws is death, eternal separation from God. None of us can live a perfect life so all of us deserve punishment. God however planned a way to take our punishment for us and thereby allow us to be reconciled to Him. Jesus came to earth to pay for our sins by taking the punishment we deserved and thereby paying for our sins. All we need do is acknowledged this sacrifice and accept the salvation offered to each of us.

Jesus came to save to world not to judge it. But once He provided a way of salvation it is up to us to choose for the next time He comes it will be to judge. We can accept His payment or reject it, but if we reject it then we will be judged on our own deeds and will have to pay the price for our sins.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I did not come to judge the world but to save the world

  1. zzzisle says:

    we are in the age of grace now, but it will not be forever

Leave a Reply

