I go and prepare a place for you

“Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going.” Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?”  John 14:1-5

Hope is what differentiates Christianity from all other religions. What Christians have is not what most think of as hope, a wish or longing for something, but a certainty. Today Jesus tells us that He will prepare a place for us in Heaven so that we can be with Him always. That is a hope no other religion give its followers.

Mormons have to work for their salvation, never knowing if they have done enough. They must dot all the I’s and cross all the T’s. The followers of Mohamed must follow a set of rules, have their good deeds outweigh their bad and yet Allah may decide that still is not enough. For the Buddhist and the Hindu all they have to look forward to is an endless recycling of life and just maybe and end as they are absorbed into nothingness. And the unbeliever, life just ends and all is pointless.

Christ brings fulfillment to a basic longing of everyone, that there must be more than what we have here on earth. That somehow we must endure past the grave. He answers that question with a resounding YES, there is more there is life more abundant than we have ever known and that life is with His forever.

God’s house is a very, very big house with room for all of us. Have you made your reservation? They lines are always open. All you have to do is call out to Jesus. He is waiting for you to call Him and He will answer, no being put on hold, no endless menu within menus and no “your call is very important to us, please wait on the next available agent. Jesus takes all the calls in person with no wait. Your room is always ready and He has left the light on. Don’t forget the football.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

