I am the way

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” John 14:6-7

“No one comes to the Father except through me”, that is pretty harsh. It is this one Christian doctrine that causes more heartburn in non Christians than any other. When we believe that Jesus is the only way to God and heaven we are told we are intolerant and want to exclude all other religions. It was this very concept that a few years back caused quite a heated discussion between my three brothers and myself. All four of us are Christian, so not liking this particular saying of Jesus is not limited to non Christians.

I think a lot of Christians are uncomfortable with this saying. Sometimes we seem a bit embarrassed by it. One of my brothers said he had a Jewish neighbor who was a very good person and he just could not accept that the neighbor was not going to heaven because he did not believe in Jesus. I think many if not most Christians also feel the same way as my brother. I know I do at times. I too know many wonderful, kind and nice people who are no believers in Jesus. It hurts me to think that they will be eternally separated from God because of their beliefs.

I think, God can’t there be another way? And maybe there is. I would never want to limit God’s power. If He wants to He can save anyone. But I always come back to this verse. Maybe there is another way but God has chosen to tell us only one way, Jesus. What it come down to is are you willing to bet eternity that God will provide you with an alternative to Jesus or do you accept God at His word. One is a maybe the other is assured by God. And it is not like there is not plenty of evidence to direct us to God and Jesus. In fact if anyone seeks, God will find a way to reveal His truth to them.

Of course another reason Christians have a problem with today’s verses is it buts an enormous burden on us. We can’t just hope God has another plan for all our un-believing friends, family and acquaintances; we need to let them know that Jesus is the only way to the Father. We have to be a living Bible for them and we need to let them know the truth. Not so easy for most of us. Still we are commanded to take the Good News to all the world. You don’t have to convert them to Jesus just be willing to plant a seed. What you plant others will water and feed and still other may harvest. But unless the seed is planted there can be no harvest.

Have a blessed day,

David

About dwwork

The name of this blog is taken from 1 Peter 3:13 - “always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience. This verse became special to me over ten years ago when I was asked to teach an adult Sunday school class on Christian apologetics. This interest grew over the years to the point that I took some graduate level classes in apologetics. I think the best way to be prepared to give and answer to everyone who asks is to know scripture. It is my hope that through these short devotionals the reader will become more familiar with each verse. I have tried when possible to make them personal hoping in some small way to show that God’s word written over two thousand years ago is still relevant today. In the writing of these short devotionals I have been able to better understand how God’s word impacts my life. It is my hope that you too will come closer to our Lord Jesus and develop a closer relationship with Him. Finally, if the reader finds anything in conflict with scripture please let me know. God’s word is the final authority always overrules anything I might write. David
This entry was posted in Bible, Devotional, God, Gospel of John and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

